Helvetia, WV
 Home
 Search
 Archive
 Newsletter
 Events
 Places
 Organizations
 Businesses
 Want Ads
 Genealogy
 History
 Links
 Directions
 About
Curent Time and Temperature
 Weather


Helvetia, West Virginia is a small Swiss village in a high mountain valley. The original Swiss and German settlers arrived in 1869 and their descendants remain. Due to the isolation of the area, the traditions of dance, music, food, and holidays have survived through the generations. Popular events include: Fasnacht, Ramp Supper, Swiss National Day, Helvetia Fair, Helvetia Day, and monthly Square Dances. Businesses include the Hutte Restaurant, Beekeeper Bed and Breakfast, and Kultur Haus Helvetia which contains the Helvetia Mask Museum, the Helvetia General Store, the Helvetia Post Office, the Alpen Lodge, and the Helvetia Research Center. Helvetia: The History of a Swiss Village in the Mountains of West Virginia details the background of the community and its people.

This Web site provides information on activities in the Helvetia area. It is updated as information is received and a monthly E-mail newsletter, Helvetia Highlights, is sent to those who sign up.

Helvetia Highlights

 

Saturday, May 2. First Saturday Square Dance. Adults $5. Age 12 and under, $2. 8:00 p.m. Star Band Hall.

Saturday, May 9. Pickens School Alumni/Senior Banquet.

Tuesday, May 12. Monthly meeting of the Helvetia Restoration and Development Organization. 6 p.m. at the Helvetia Public Library.

Wednesday, May 27. Farm Women's Club Meeting.

Wednesday, May 27. Helvetia Public Library Board of Trustees meeting. At the Library. 5:00 p.m.

Friday, May 29 - Sunday May 31. Dare to be Square. Workshops for Square Dance Callers, Dancers, and Musicians. http://mountaindancetrail.org/364-2/.

Saturday, May 30. Pickens School Class of 2015 Graduation. 1:00 p.m. School Gymnasium.

Saturday, June 6. First Saturday Square Dance. Adults $5. Age 12 and under, $2. 8:00 p.m. Community Hall.

Sunday, June 7. Annual meeting of Kultur Haus Helvetia. 1:00 p.m. Picnic follows. Everyone is invited. At Kultur Haus Helvetia.

Tuesday, June 9. Monthly meeting of the Helvetia Restoration and Development Organization. 6 p.m. at the Helvetia Public Library.

Saturday, June 13. Poker Run. Beech Mountain Sportsman Club. Starts and ends at the Clubhouse at Czar. Registration: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Start: 9:00 a.m. Finish: 5:00 p.m. $10.00 registration. Free food for paid riders.

Sunday, June 14. Helvetia Cemetery Decoration.

Sunday, June 21. Pickens Cemetery Decoration.

Wednesday, June 24. Farm Women's Club Meeting.

Wednesday, June 24. Helvetia Public Library Board of Trustees meeting. At the Library. 5:00 p.m.

Friday, June 26 - Sunday, June 28. Fourth Annual Follow Your Bliss FestivalMusic, food, and other entertainment.